top of page
  • caylajwike

Why you Should Get Involved on Campus

Updated: Dec 8, 2020


Credit: Maurice Carroll

As a college senior, I have been a part of several clubs and organizations throughout my time at Loyola. In addition, I have attended sporting events, club events, and University sponsored events on campus. I have found these moments to have positive effects on my view of my University and fellow students. If you are interested in joining a club this year, here are some reasons why you should:


1: It helps to increase your sense of belonging.


When I began my first year at Loyola University MD, I knew that it would take time to get adjusted to college life. Campus groups that I’ve been a part of include Chosen Generation Gospel Choir, The Native American Student Association, The Black Student Association, Campus Activities Board, and Short Film Club. I’ve also been a participant of and a student leader for Loyola retreats, like IGNITE and Sophomore Roadtrip. Throughout my time with all of these clubs, I have learned more about myself and my peers. I have also had various leadership positions that have shown me how to work with others in different spaces.


Another benefit of getting involved is that your school pride skyrockets. Attending events on campus, like sporting events, helped me to feel more connected to my school. It is nothing like being in a crowd of your fellow students, cheering after your team scores a goal or shoots a free throw. Participating in school traditions also helps you get a sense of the campus atmosphere.



Credit: @loyolacab

2: You may explore interests and find new ones.


One organization that I surprised myself by joining was Loyola’s Campus Activities Board (CAB). Before joining the organization, I had never experienced event planning before. However, I knew that it was something that I wanted to explore further. One thing I learned as a member of CAB is how to work with others to plan events. I also had a lot of fun participating and volunteering for events I helped to plan. Joining a new club or organization may lead you to a new interest as well!


3: You can meet new people & expand your circle.


As I got more involved on campus, I connected with many different students. Every year, Loyola’s Office of Student Engagement runs its Sophomore Roadtrip retreat. Although it is not a club, it helped me to connect with a lot of my peers in my Sophomore year. Reflecting back on this experience, I have kept in contact with many students I met. Some have even been my roommates! People that I have met at school events have also been a part of my classes and vice versa. As an ALANA Mentor, I have also helped new students adjust to college life at Loyola. One of my mentees became one of my closest friends. The more people you meet on campus, the more faces you begin to recognize!



Credit: Cayla Wike

4: You support others in the process. (And can get free stuff)

At a soccer game last year, I received a gift card for being Fan of the Game. Although it was a random drawing, I was very excited to receive something for attending and supporting my school’s soccer team. I have also received free school merch at many games since my first year. On the other hand, student athletes are also very excited to receive support from their fellow students. Joining clubs and organizations as well as attending school events has many benefits.

12 views

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page