top of page
  • mcaguirre6

Maintaining Mental Health with a Draining Media Cycle

Updated: Dec 8, 2020


Credit: Michelle Aguirre

COVID-19 has done more than put a wrench in people’s 2020 plans at this point. Personally, I’ve had half of my study abroad experience ripped out from under me and then I wasn’t allowed to return to the community that I’ve been calling home for the past three years, Baltimore. My life and relationships have been boxed and somewhat put on hold as I moved back into my childhood bedroom. The interactions I’ve been able to have with professors, employers, friends and strangers have all happened through “social” media and other online platforms. In a time where online connectivity is at an all-time high, I’ve never felt more alone.


An extra emphasis has been placed on maintaining mental health since a global pandemic is certainly a stressful time, but it feels impossible when your refuge, your work, and your entire support system is all exclusively accessible through your smartphone and laptop. I finish a long day at zoom university and immediately sit back and scroll through Instagram for two hours to get some semblance of socialization in for the day, then I switch apps and let my brain rot as Netflix shows numb my overstimulated and tired brain.


It is widely accepted that social media can be one of the most toxic environments to be constantly immersed in. Though social media can be used to uplift marginalized voices and spread awareness about important systemic and institutional problems, it can also be a cesspool of hate and misinformation, throw in a dash of drama and cancel culture and you create the perfect opportunity for over-stimulation, burn out, anxiety, and depression. But when you are separated from the people you love, and social media offers some small sense of connection then the option to delete it off our screens feels impossible. What’s the solution? I’m still trying to figure it out myself but here’s what I’ve found out so far.


Clearly communicating what you need from the people closest to you is essential.

This probably seems like a given but if this is your first time being away from your loved ones, whether because of a virus or for any other reason, it is harder than it may initially seem. If you communicate your needs in terms of how you prefer to stay connected, how many times you would like to have more intentional conversations through a call or zoom chat, and maybe planning a designated in person visit to have something to look forward to, then the time you spend on your phone will be more intentional and fulfilling for you.


Block, unfollow, mute and cut out consistent negativity within your feed. By this I mean weed out the people or pages that don’t add any kind of value to your life. The opinions, posts, and conversations you’ve had with them have always been acutely upsetting and they are unwilling to listen to your point of view. If discussions are impossible and they are promoting harmful behavior that hurts others, maybe it’s time to remove them from view.


Limit your screen time overall. I know it feels unmanageable but finding a system that allows you some designated time away from any kind of screen will help immensely. Both your mental health and your eyeballs will thank you! Find something else to do that grounds you in the world around you.

Bake, read, journal, go for a walk to your favorite coffee shop, go on a photography adventure, sit in the sun for 10 minutes, the options are seemingly endless. Just do something for you!

11 views

Comentarios


bottom of page